My April 2022 In Books

And within a blink of an eye, April became May. Where did the time go? It seems pretty crazy how quickly this month has passed me by, but keeping a book journal has helped me realise I spent the time wisely.

It has been a month of excitement for sure, and I am feeling a sense of rejuvenated energy for the blog, for reading, and dare I even say for writing creatively. In my latest update post I mention how I feel about my blog, my brand, and the direction I feel pushed in, it has been a weight lifted from my shoulders. So onwards with the reading and rambling!

If you missed last month’s list…click here!

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

The Books

Independent Authors

You Only Live Thrice: Perspective is a Superpower

Karl Perry

Book Cover: You Only Live Thrice by Karl Perry

Genre: Non-Fiction, Biography
Length: 322 pages
First Published: 2021

Synopsis:

You Only Live Thrice is a very personal and powerful book that will make you consider the little things in life. Perspective is indeed a superpower and the life experiences shared in this book will put a spotlight on your own mortality and make it do a little dance. The book is a biographical experience of the author who shares all, in a brutally honest fashion, his experience with cardiac problems, death and trying to put everything back together again in a pandemic world.

Review:

See the full review here!

Rating:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

The Green Girl and The Serum
(The Green Girl Series #1)

S.T.L. Armstrong

Book Cover of The Green Girl and the Serum

Genre: Young Adult Sci-Fi
Length: 155 pages
First Published: 2021

Synopsis:

For the readers who love Marvel, D.C., and particularly X-men, The Green Girl series is calling! The debut of this series centers around the concept behind the Mega Humans, in particular a girl named Stacey. We are introduced to a world where a serum, originally designed as a cancer cure, gave its test subjects superpowers, and in some cases changed the colour of their skin. This is where Stacey comes in, being a Mega Human with green skin. She is one of the good girls, along with her boyfriend Ben, a powerful psychic, and their cohort, known as Haven. They strive to make peace between themselves and humans, all while trying to thwart the evil of the Mega Human terrorist group the Outcasts, lead by the powerful villainous Surge…

Review:

See the full review here!

Rating:

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

The Others

The Bookshop on the Shore
(Scottish Bookshop #2)

Jenny Colgan

Book Cover The Bookshop on the Shore

Genre: Romance
Length: 416 pages
First Published: 2019

Synopsis:

The second book of the Scottish bookshop series, following young single mum Zoe on her Scottish adventure. After making a connection with her baby daddy’s sister, Zoe ends up helping Nina with her bookshop while she is bedbound with her pregnancy. The story follows Zoe’s life as a Nanny in a large Scottish estate and her experience with the family.

Review:

This book disappointed me. It covers too many topics in too little space. I’m sure readers who love the magical idea of marrying a Scottish man in a kilt will disagree with me, but this book seems very cliche in comparison with the first.

Rating:

Rating: 2 out of 5.

How to Kill Your Family

Bella Mackie

Book Cover of How to kill your family

Genre: Fiction/Dark Comedy
Length: 355 pages
First Published: 2021

Synopsis:

Grace Bernard discovers her absentee millionaire father rejected her dying mother’s pleas for help, so she vows revenge, and sets about to kill every member of his family. However Grace is in prison, but it’s not for a murder she committed…

Review:

People seriously hate this book. Looking on Goodreads people are out for blood against this author. In comparison, I really enjoyed it. It is dark and humourous has a little part of social commentary, that is fiction. This book gave me real Fleabag vibes in terms of character and comedy.

Rating:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

My Sister, The Serial Killer

Oyinkan Braithwaite

Book Cover of my sister the serial killer

Genre: Fiction/Dark Comedy
Length: 226 pages
First Published: 2018

Synopsis:

My Sister, the Serial Killer is a blackly comic novel about how blood is thicker – and more difficult to get out of the carpet – than water…

When Korede’s dinner is interrupted one night by a distress call from her sister, Ayoola, she knows what’s expected of her: bleach, rubber gloves, nerves of steel, and a strong stomach.

Review:

Seriously dark but so well written. I love the characters in this, the variety in their personalities and speech. The relationships between the characters are also so well done. I really enjoyed this little book! I have literally no idea about society in Nigeria so it was really nice to be transported to another country for this book, especially after reading How to Kill Your Family.

Rating:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

To The Lighthouse

Virginia Woolf

Book Cover of to the lighthouse

Genre: Fiction/Classic
Length: 209 pages
First Published: 1929

Synopsis:

The Ramsay’s are a family unit, face the greatest challenges of being human within society. Change. The story follows the family on a holiday and is a lovely insight and commentary on their relationships within the family and externally to society.

Review:

Having never read Woolf before, I was expecting some stodgy writing talking about feminism and I was wrong. I adore some of the descriptions and details in this book. The characters, the interactions, it really is just everything I have been missing in books recently. I plan on reading more of her books now to really get on the Virginia Woolf fandom train!

Rating:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Yours Cheerfully

A J Pearce

Book Cover of yours cheerfully

Genre: Historical Fiction
Length: 320 pages
First Published: 2021

Synopsis:

The follow-up book to Dear Mrs. Bird, Yours Cheerfully continues following the lives of our two wartime gals Emmy and Bunty as they navigate the complications of war: love, loss, and women’s rights.

Review:

The first book of this series I devoured in a few days, so understandably, I could not wait to get stuck into this one. As with the first, this book has such care and attention taken, to ensure the historical accuracy and it really shows! When you think of women wartime workers, you are often drawn to the first world war with the women factory workers being an integral part of women’s suffrage in the 1910s and 1920s, however, this book puts a spotlight on the women factory workers of the second world war and how the fight for women’s right did not indeed end with the vote. A read that will make you laugh and cry, and an overall feel-good novel.

Rating:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

All Yours Perfect

Colleen Hoover

Book Cover of all yours perfect

Genre: Romance
Length: 305 pages
First Published: 2018

Synopsis:

Quinn and Graham have the perfect relationship, real love but all that is threatened by the breakdown of their marriage….

Review:

I don’t know who recommended Colleen Hoover more, bookstagram, tiktok or my local bookshop. I caved under pressure and downloaded All Yours Perfect onto my kindle. The book is a beautifully crafted story of a relationship, the lows and the highs, the breakdown, and the healing. Being so simple in the story I was not expecting to feel so many emotions! I will be picking up more of her books in the future.

Rating:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Please keep the suggestions coming in!

Briony-Molly signature

Links to my sites:

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/brionymolly

Twitter: https://twitter.com/itsjust_molly

Use my affiliate links for ebooks

2 responses to “My April 2022 In Books”

  1. […] If you haven’t checked out my April reads… check them out here. […]

    Like

  2. […] If you missed last month’s list…click here! […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: